The Janet L. Hoopes Award
The Hoopes Award was established in 2003 in memory of Dr. Janet L Hoopes, a dedicated Board member and Professor Emeritus at Bryn Mawr College.  This prestigious award is presented at the Annual Fall Conference to an individual or individuals in Pennsylvania or Delaware who have made a significant contribution to the education of those with learning differences.


1993                Janet L. Hoopes, Ph.D

1994                Virginia (Ginger) L. Biasotto.

1995                Joan Frank

1996                Barbara J. Lorry, Ph.D.

1997                Thomas Atkins, Ph. D.

1998                Katherine Gordon-Clark, Ph.D

1999                Dorothy Flanagan and Sandra Howze

2000                Jean Bay M.A.

2001                Elissa L., Ed.M.  and Rev. James Fisher,

2002                J. Barton Harrison

2003                Elizabeth (Lisa) P. Simon

2004                IDA National conference held in Philadelphia – No award given

2005                Adele Gerber, Ph.D.

2006                Charna O. Axelrod, Ed.D.

2007                Sharon Tomalin, M.A.

2008                Fran James-Warkomski, Ph.D.

2009                Recording for the Blind and Dyslexic

2010                Kathleen Hunt

2011                 George Rowe

2012                Irene McHenry, Ph.D.

2013                Eugenie Walsh Flaherty, Ph.D.

2014                Irene Gaskins, Ph.D.

2015                Children’s Dyslexia Centers, PA locations

2016                Hollis S. Scarborough, Ph.D.

2017                Curtis Kossman

2018                Leslie A. Rescorla, Ph.D.

2019                Julia G. Sadtler

2020               Penny Moldofsky

2021               George Vosburgh

2022               Mary Ellen Trent

2023               Diane Reott

Share this page with your friends…